Uzbekistan ratified the Nakhchivan Agreement

Uzbekistan ratified the 
Nakhchivan Agreement

 The President of Uzbekistan signed the Law "On ratification by the Republic of Uzbekistan of the Nakhichevan Agreement (Nakhichevan, October 3, 2009) on the establishment of a Cooperation Council for Turkic-speaking states."

The Cooperation Council of Turkic-Speaking States is an international intergovernmental organization, the basis of which is to strengthen friendship and good neighbourliness between Turkic-speaking countries, preserving peace, security and mutual trust in the region and the world.

Members of the Turkic Council are also Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkey. Joining the organization will allow Uzbekistan to expand political, trade, economic, scientific, technical, cultural and humanitarian cooperation, primarily with its closest neighbours in the region. It will also contribute to the creation of favourable conditions for trade and investment, further simplification of customs and transit procedures, financial and banking operations.